https://www.un.org/sg/en/content/sg/note-correspondents/2017-09-29/note-correspondents-voluntary-compact-preventing-and

29 September 2017

Note to Correspondents on Voluntary Compact on Preventing and Addressing Sexual Exploitation and Abuse

The United Nations is grateful to the many Member States that have already answered the call by Secretary-General António Guterres to sign onto a Voluntary Compact on preventing and addressing sexual exploitation and abuse. A number of additional Member States have also formally indicated their intention to sign the Voluntary Compact. This represents an unprecedented demonstration of solidarity and a firm commitment to addressing the issue comprehensively and effectively, ensuring full implementation of the Secretary-General's Zero Tolerance policy.

The Secretary-General introduced the Compact at a High Level Meeting on the Prevention of Sexual Exploitation and Abuse held in the margins of the United Nations General Assembly on 18 September 2017. The meeting brought together world leaders and leaders of regional and civil society organizations and charted an ambitious strategy aimed at responding comprehensively to sexual exploitation and abuse by UN personnel. At the High Level Meeting, the Secretary-General re-affirmed to Member States that the United Nations would "not tolerate anyone committing or condoning sexual exploitation and abuse" and would "not let anyone cover up these crimes with the UN flag." The Compact, as Under-Secretary-General for Field Support, Atul Khare indicated, is "another visible demonstration of common purpose and collective resolve" to achieve this aim.

The signatories to the Compact represent a broad cross-section of the membership. Their signature - or formal expression of intention to sign - highlights their dedication to the issue and their support to the critical work being done by the United Nations to contribute to the maintenance of international peace and security through uniformed personnel to peace operations, addressing humanitarian needs, promoting and protecting human rights and contributing to sustainable development, or through financial contributions. The document remains open for signature and the Secretariat encourages all Member States that have not signed to add their voice to this important initiative.

The United Nations is grateful to all those Member States that have signed or are taking steps to sign the Compact. Through the Compact, the Secretary-General and Member States re-affirm their mutual belief that sexual exploitation and abuse runs counter to their shared values and erodes the trust of those the UN serves. The Compact also sets out specific commitments adopted by the United Nations and by signatory Member States to prevent sexual exploitation and abuse, to hold individuals accountable and to respect the dignity of those who have been victimized by providing them with meaningful support.

UNITED NATIONS, New York – 29 September 2017

ANNEX TO THE NOTE:

Signatories to the Voluntary Compact Voluntary Compact on Elimination of Sexual Exploitation and

https://www.un.org/sg/en/content/sg/note-correspondents/2017-09-29/note-correspondents-voluntary-compact-preventing-and

Abuse between the Secretary-General of the United Nations and Member States, as of 29 September 2017:

- 1. The Republic of Albania
- 2. The Principality of Andorra
- 3. The Argentine Republic
- 4. Australia
- 5. The People's Republic of Bangladesh
- 6. The Republic of Belarus
- 7. The Kingdom of Belgium
- 8. The Kingdom of Bhutan
- 9. The Federative Republic of Brazil
- 10. The Republic of Bulgaria
- 11. The Republic of Cabo Verde
- 12. Canada
- 13. The Central African Republic
- 14. The Republic of Chile
- 15. The Republic of Costa Rica
- 16. The Republic of Côte d'Ivoire
- 17. The Republic of Cyprus*
- 18. The Czech Republic
- 19. The Kingdom of Denmark
- 20. The Dominican Republic
- 21. The Republic of El Salvador
- 22. The Republic of Estonia
- 23. The Republic of Fiji*
- 24. The Republic of Finland
- 25. The French Republic
- 26. The Gabonese Republic
- 27. The Federal Republic of Germany
- 28. The Hellenic Republic
- 29. The Republic of Guatemala
- 30. The Republic of Honduras
- 31. The Republic of Iceland
- 32. The Republic of Indonesia
- 33. The State of Israel
- 34. The Republic of Italy
- 35. Japan
- 36. The Republic of Kazakhstan
- 37. The Republic of Latvia
- 38. The Republic of Lithuania
- 39. The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
- 40. The Republic of Malawi
- 41. The Republic of Mali
- 42. The Republic of Malta*
- 43. The United Mexican States

https://www.un.org/sg/en/content/sg/note-correspondents/2017-09-29/note-correspondents-voluntary-compact-preventing-and

- 44. The Principality of Monaco
- 45. Montenegro
- 46. The Republic of Namibia
- 47. The Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal
- 48. The Kingdom of the Netherlands
- 49. The Republic of the Niger
- 50. The Kingdom of Norway
- 51. The Islamic Republic of Pakistan
- 52. The Republic of Panama
- 53. The Republic of Paraguay
- 54. The Republic of Poland
- 55. The Portuguese Republic
- 56. The Republic of Korea
- 57. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
- 58. The Independent State of Samoa
- 59. The Republic of San Marino
- 60. The Republic of Senegal
- 61. The Republic of Slovenia
- 62. The Kingdom of Spain
- 63. The Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka
- 64. The Kingdom of Sweden
- 65. The Togolese Republic
- 66. The Republic of Tunisia*
- 67. Ukraine
- 68. The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
- 69. The United Republic of Tanzania
- 70. The United States of America
- 71. The Eastern Republic of Uruguay
- 72. The Republic of Zambia

In addition to the signatories listed herein, the following 19 Member States have formally indicated their intention to sign the Voluntary Compact in the near future and are actively processing the required approvals in their capitals: the Republic of Austria; the Republic of Benin; the Republic of Croatia; the Democratic Republic of the Congo; the Republic of Djibouti; the Republic of Ecuador; the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia; the Republic of Ghana; the Republic of India; Ireland; the Republic of Kenya; the Principality of Liechtenstein; the Federated States of Micronesia; the Federal Republic of Nigeria; the Republic of Peru; the Republic of Rwanda; the Slovak Republic; the Republic of South Africa and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.

^{*} Member States that are processing the document for signature, having obtained all clearances from capital.